Presentation Management

Add permissions on folders

Why set permissions on folders?

  • Maintain confidentiality: Only people who should see this content can see it.
  • Maintain content integrity: Those who should not edit this content won't be able to do so.
  • Simplify searching: If users only have permissions to see into a few folders, their searches won't be cluttered with hundreds (or thousands!) of files irrelevant to them.

Steps

(a) Set up groups

Creating a group

  • Add people to your group

    • Once you have saved your group, you are automatically taken to the group settings

    • Check off the roles you would like for this group overall (not in reference to a folder yet). Adding roles to a group

    • Click the "Add Users" tab and add users. Adding people to a group

(b) Give groups permissions

  • Click the down-arrow on the right side of the folder name. Select "Permissions." Giving permissions to a folder
  • In the first box, type the name of the group who should have permissions to this folder. Search for the group you want to give permissions to
  • Select View Only, Read, Write, or Full Control.
    • View Only means users can only view & present from this folder, but cannot copy, download, or change slides in this folder.
    • Read means users can see slides from this folder, and pull slides from here to make new presentations, but cannot change slides in this folder.
    • Write means users can edit the slides and presentations in this folder.
    • Full Control means users can take any action on material in the folder, as well as updating permissions on the folder itself.
  • For Read or Write, select whether this group can share presentations or not (Full Control always allows sharing; View Only never allows sharing). Sharing a presentation gives the user the ability to send it to anyone internal or external in a read-only, slide-show-viewer format. Select read, write, and share as appropriate

Pro tip!

You can also grant permissions to an individual